Implents of Electrical Destruction (IED)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bacchus

This guy was one hell of a plumber but makes for a lousy electrician. (See attachment)

I Found this when I was an apprentice. They had trouble with fuses that kept blowing so they permanately fixed it with 5" copper pipe. It's been so long so the details are shady but we ran some new ridgid pipe in the ground to the box, which controlled a motor 60 feet behind the building. I think it was 3 phase but over the years I lost the other permanent "fuses."

I kept this because I wanted to share it with someone as an example what crazy things people do. I'd would love to collect pictures and other crazy IED implements of electrical destruction on a board, kind of like the boards you see in every prision (I watch a lot of 'reality' shows) where they have a collection of shanks.

Attachments

• P7220429.jpg
    P7220429.jpg
    146.3 KB · Views: 0

mgookin

I've seen people use rebar in the meter can after poco pulls the meter for non-payment.

Once poco finds that they cut the service drop.

SceneryDriver

Occupation
Electrical and Automation Designer

I've used fuse replacement slugs to repair a 3-phase motor install. The contractor had installed a fused disconnect between the VFD and the motor. The disconnect was for service work, and no argument that it had to be there. The problem was with the fuses; if a fuse popped, chances were it would damage the output side of the drive. Solution was to replace the 60A cartridge fuses with slugs, and add an AUX switch to open the control circuit for the drive. MUCH cheaper and faster than replacing a 40HP rated disconnect.

The slugs definitely have their uses - corner grounded delta systems, neutrals, fixing contractor oopsies, etc... - but they're not OCPD, for sure! I think it's a wonder that there aren't more fires attributed to shoddy wiring. The myriad of ways wiring can be screwed up is vast.

SceneryDriver

Jraef

Moderator, OTD