Journeyman's card

Status
Not open for further replies.

LostinFL

I have been a non licensed Electrician since 1992 worked untill 2006 when the bottom dropped out on the housing market. I have not worked as an electrician since 2006. Now I'm wanting to take my Journeyman's Exam In Florida. I see that the last 4 years of w-2 forms are needed along with affidavits from previous company's. with that said showing my last four years of w-2's do not show any electrical employment. Does this mean that I have to start all over and get employment for the next four years with an Electrical contractor to take my exam? or is there a time limit on previous employment w-2's? Any help would be greatly appreciated. By the way I did get all my books needed for taking the exam from Mike Holt.

Sierrasparky

Occupation
Electrician ,contractor
Welcome to the forum!:thumbsup:

What state were you working in all those years?

I would pay a visit to the agency that is in charge of these licensces with all your past w2 and even tax returns that show your work as a sparky. That should get you going.
With that amount of work I see no reason not to let you apply.

LostinFL

FL does not have a state card. The card is only good for the county you apply in, if you make 70% if you make 75% or higher it applies to the 3 surrounding counties

LostinFL

Mostly, self respect. More money. In the long run, my masters. Start my own company. I'm not getting any younger at the wage rate I'm at now I will never be able to retire.

LostinFL

Florida sucks so bad there is no such thing as a journeyman's card in Florida its either your unlimited(ec) or specialty(alarm) why did I ever move back here.

growler