Running power in an existing slab 3 ft to a new kitchen island.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bantamben

What is your preferred wiring method to run power out of a wall through a slab to a kitchen island. I'm helping out a buddy and I have very little residential experience. All mine is commercial/industrial. Curious what is the best way to run this circuit to the island, code compliant of course. I was thinking of cutting slab just deep enough to put in a 3/4 or 1/2 PVC and run it through the slab from wall and up into island. Is there a depth requirement for the PVC in the slab? Can I just pull Romex through it or use if cable, and just use PVC as a chase?
Thanks

How would you do it with your current electrical skills? Remember, the inside of a conduit in the ground is considered a wet location.

What is your preferred wiring method to run power out of a wall through a slab to a kitchen island. I'm helping out a buddy and I have very little residential experience. All mine is commercial/industrial. Curious what is the best way to run this circuit to the island, code compliant of course. I was thinking of cutting slab just deep enough to put in a 3/4 or 1/2 PVC and run it through the slab from wall and up into island. Is there a depth requirement for the PVC in the slab? Can I just pull Romex through it or use if cable, and just use PVC as a chase?
Thanks

ActionDave

Chief Moderator
Staff member
Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min from the winged horses.
Occupation
Licensed Electrician
What is your preferred wiring method to run power out of a wall through a slab to a kitchen island. I'm helping out a buddy and I have very little residential experience. All mine is commercial/industrial. Curious what is the best way to run this circuit to the island, code compliant of course. I was thinking of cutting slab just deep enough to put in a 3/4 or 1/2 PVC and run it through the slab from wall and up into island.