Please help me. I'm not an electrician. I would like to know why....

Status
Not open for further replies.

InterNACHI

I would like to know why it is a good practice to remove the jacket and paper sheathing from cables inside a panel. Is the reason only for panel neatness or is there also a technical, code, or safety reason for removing?

I am not an electrician and I know very little about this issue. I'm a friend of Mike Holt.

I very much enjoy reading this forum, although much of it is over my head.

Thanks in advance.

Nick Gromicko
InterNACHI

Little Bill

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrician
I would like to know why it is a good practice to remove the jacket and paper sheathing from cables inside a panel. Is the reason only for panel neatness or is there also a technical, code, or safety reason for removing?

I am not an electrician and I know very little about this issue. I'm a friend of Mike Holt.

I very much enjoy reading this forum, although much of it is over my head.

Thanks in advance.

Nick Gromicko
InterNACHI

The only thing I know that the code addresses concerning NM ( sheathing in a panel or box) is the sheath/jacket has to protrude at least 1/4" past the connector which contains it.
It's just a matter of taking less room in the panel, easier to "train" the wires/conductors, and neatness as you mentioned, IMO.

Smart $

Esteemed Member
I'd say the paper is a no brainer given it is an easily combustible material.

Speculation leads me to believe heat dissipation factors into jacket removal.

mwm1752

No code against it but I never considered any advantage in leaving it on -- workmanship though is in the code and is an arbitrary call. Tell me Nick, do you have an applicable purpose for your question?

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer