Effects of magnetic fields on current flow AC or DC??

Status
Not open for further replies.

aimsbmb

Hypothetically, what effect will fairly powerful magnets have on current flow in a conductor with potential in millivolt range?
Specifically, DC induced voltage in a human nerve with two magnets adjacent the nerve with magnetic fields overlapping?
I am wondering if there is a possibility this could act as a choke and inhibit current flow? Anyone with a scope to run some tests?
I suffered a spinal cord injury in 2008 Central Cord Syndrome which basically means the insulation was damaged around the
nerves where the injury occurred, so in effect whenever I have elevated electrical activity in my body as it passes this area
it short circuits and lights up 2/3rds of my body with jolts which is quite painful. Anyway, I got thinking if there was someway
to choke or reduce the flow, it may improve the situation. I am an Engineer, but don't really have access to equipment any more
since the injury prevents me from working in the same capacity now. I am certain the voltage is millivolt <100 DC potassium ion
discharge impulse and it is in my neck, so about 1/2" deep. I thought about static elimination, but that I believe would be surface
only. If anyone has any ideas or can test the effects of magnets on a small DC current, it would be greatly appreciated.:angel:

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
An interesting question, but basically an external static (DC or permanent magnet) magnetic field will have no effect on the flow of current except, as in the case of the Hall effect, cause the current to flow preferentially in different areas of a bulk conductor or follow different circuit paths.
A time varying magnetic field (e.g. from AC or moving magnets) will induce voltages that can cause of inhibit current flow.