Sizing feeder ocpd and wire for 125amp rated subpanel/panel board in detached garage

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good evening,
I am a Nevada County Building Inspector in CA. I had this come up twice today in consecutive inspections. A detached garage is fed from the main service panel with a 2 pole 40 amp breaker and 2 #8cu plus neutral and ground. The panel board in the garage has 2 20 amp breakers for outlets and 1 15 amp breaker for lights. The branch circuits are sized correctly. I am being told that the ocpd and feeder wires from the house to the garage must be sized to the rating of the panel board in the garage which is 125 amps. At 100' distance from house to garage this is approx a #1 cu. This guy only installed a 3/4" conduit. Do I size to the load or the panel board rating? And if its to the panel board rating must is be equal to or greater to the panel board rating or must it be less then?

Fitzdrew516

Good evening,
I am a Nevada County Building Inspector in CA. I had this come up twice today in consecutive inspections. A detached garage is fed from the main service panel with a 2 pole 40 amp breaker and 2 #8cu plus neutral and ground. The panel board in the garage has 2 20 amp breakers for outlets and 1 15 amp breaker for lights. The branch circuits are sized correctly. I am being told that the ocpd and feeder wires from the house to the garage must be sized to the rating of the panel board in the garage which is 125 amps. At 100' distance from house to garage this is approx a #1 cu. This guy only installed a 3/4" conduit. Do I size to the load or the panel board rating? And if its to the panel board rating must is be equal to or greater to the panel board rating or must it be less then?