Potential for GEC to carry load if the grounded service conductor 'goes bad'

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am wondering if running a separate wire from the ground bar on the interior panel to the meter enclosure is good practice or a potential hazard. I am aware that you are effectively paralleling the grounded conductor in doing so and that most meter enclosures are factory bonded from the can to the grounded conductor. I am also wondering if there would be any potentially hazardous current flowing through the #4 wire (I'm assuming there is, since electricity takes all paths; not just the path of least resistance) or if the resistances of the two wires are different enough that the current flow would be miniscule. My second question is: if there is a loss of the grounded conductor on the poco's side, what measures could be taken to reduce the potential of the meter enclosure and/or the GEC from becoming the path back to source? I am a city electrical inspector and would like things to be as safe as possible, with respect to practicality. Thank you, in advance, for any comments regarding these matters.

iwire

Staff member
Running the additional conductor would be violation of the NEC rules for parallel conductors.

Short of requiring the power company to provided separate grounding and neutral conductors nothing can be done.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
If there is a metallic public water system and the GEC connection to the water pipe is good then the loss of a utility neutral might go completely unnoticed as the neutral current will return on the water pipe through the neighbors house. As Bob stated creating a violation to mitigate a problem that has a minuscule chance of occurring is not a good idea.

Smart $

Esteemed Member
Running the additional conductor would be violation of the NEC rules for parallel conductors.