Wow. I can't think for some reason. ArcFault needed?

Status
Not open for further replies.

wrobotronic

Hi all.
as a new inspector I know I will miss some things and call others that may not need called. For some reason today it seems as though I cannot think straight. Here is my question:

a basement was damaged by water. The basement had to be gutted and refinished. Today I failed the final inspection because the new circuits were not brought to meet the arc fault requirements of the NEC.

Am I correct in this? I am being told by the EC that the circuits were existing and he only rewired it to the existing CBs in a new service. I am citing 210.12B as the circuits were "modified".
The EC also stated that this requirement should have been called when I inspected the new service. I stated however that the basement was not yet finished and I had to wait for the final inspection of the basement, so as to see the use of the room. IE, are the rooms finished or open studs. Is is being used as a dwelling space or storage only.

He said he is going to challenge my inspection with the lead EI. This is my first interaction with such an angry EC after I failed him. I want to do things correctly and any help would be appreciated as always. THANK YOU ALL VERY MUCH...

user 100

Hi all.
as a new inspector I know I will miss some things and call others that may not need called. For some reason today it seems as though I cannot think straight. Here is my question:

a basement was damaged by water. The basement had to be gutted and refinished. Today I failed the final inspection because the new circuits were not brought to meet the arc fault requirements of the NEC.

Am I correct in this? I am being told by the EC that the circuits were existing and he only rewired it to the existing CBs in a new service. I am citing 210.12B as the circuits were "modified".