Commercial lighting

Status
Not open for further replies.

tbakelis

Hello All,

I'm an electrician with 10 years experience. Small shop in San Jose California (me and 1 employee, 1 van) I mainly do residential with a little commercial experience.

I'm trying to bid a commerical job (ice cream store, approximately 36 lights... 4x4s, 2x2s and some recessed lights all LED). I know there are a ton of new title 24 stuff of which I am not familiar with. Stuff dealing with the amount of daylight coming in and such.

Couple questions:
On the plans it shows four 0-10V LED dimmers controlling all of the stores lights. I'm not familiar with those. Any enlightenment on that? Are there separate low voltage control wires that go from light fixture to the dimmers for dimming?

I can't find anywhere on the plans any "lighting control panel". Just a 2 hr bypass switch of which I've done before. There are also 2 light fixtures that fall into a 9' daylight area by the front door. Can someone enlighten me on what is required of those 2 light fixtures that fall into that daylight zone?

I can totally handle this project because it isn't that big... just a little nervous about the lighting portion of it.

Any advice will help!

Thanks,

Ted

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
This is from Lutron. Southwire cable company makes an MC cable for this purpose

0-10VDC (4-wire control):Ballasts controlled by this method require four controlwires: Switched Hot, Neutral, 0-10VDC Positive, and0-10VDC Negative. The Switched Hot and Neutral providepower to the ballast. The 0-10VDC wires provide thedimming signal from the control to ballasts.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Here is the southwire product http://www.afcweb.com/mc-metal-clad-cables/mc-luminary/

mc-luminary-illustration-with-call-outs.png

Fulthrotl

~Autocorrect is My Worst Enema.~