Unmarked breakers

Status
Not open for further replies.
**I'm a home inspector.**

Today I inspected a 1964 villa. Original ITE service panel located at the exterior. The main breaker, AC and range were all unmarked (no amperage rating). The handle ties were held in place with grommets to keep them from being removed. Grommets are not visible in the pic.

If an electrician came across this condition, what would be the recommended course of action? Replace the breakers to verify suitable over current protection?

Attachments

• DSC04414.jpg
    DSC04414.jpg
    143.5 KB · Views: 1

Frank DuVal

Fredericksburg, VA 21 Hours from Winged Horses wi
Occupation
Electrical Contractor, Electrical Engineer
Many times the amperage is written on the side of the breaker. Could you see either the top side of the upper breaker or the lower side of the bottom breaker? Of course time has a habit of removing the writing!

Removing the breakers is not part of a home inspection, I realize.

jumper

You looking for something like this?

240.83 Marking.
(A) Durable and Visible.
Circuit breakers shall be marked
with their ampere rating in a manner that will be durable
and visible after installation. Such marking shall be permit-
ted to be made visible by removal of a trim or cover.

240.83 Marking.
(A) Durable and Visible.

Thanks but I don't quote code. Otherwise I would be held to commenting on code compliance of the entire structure. Which means nearly every house has 100s of issues.

I'm just asking about the risks associated with potentially using an improperly sized breaker if that was the case.

user 100

Of course time has a habit of removing the writing!

This is probably true on the top breaker- alot of breakers and I believe ite is one, only painted instead of stamping/molding the amperage- no visible marking in amerage window. The tie on Breaker #2 doesn't have the amperage window and of course both are in possible violation of this
vvvvvvvvvv

240.83 Marking.