Boat lift shock

Status
Not open for further replies.
my name is Ron, I have been a licensed electrical contractor in NC since 1998. I currently wire a lot of piers and boatlifts with no problems, However, some time around 2003 to 2005 we wired a pier with a boat lift, this is the job I have a question about. A #6 feeder was used to feed a sub panel at the pier. All circuits on the pier are ground fault protected with breakers at the subpanel. The customer complained of being shocked when swimming and touching the boat lift. While investigating the matter I found that even with the sub feeder breaker turned off the shock was still there. The only way to stop it is disconnect the feeder ground wire from the sub panel. I contacted the power company and there engineer said that the lake was a better ground than the power company had and they would do nothing about it. I watched the video about grounding at agriculture buildings and I feel that this is a similar problem as discussed in that video. My question, is there any thing I can do to correct this problem. Like a copper grounding ring on the bottom of the lake.

Thank you for your time, I look forward to a reply

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
Turing off the main panel will not help. as long as the EGC is connected to the poco neutral it will not change.

This is correct as long as none of the current flowing trough the GEC is originating from the customer side of the POCO transformer. It is still worth conducting the experiment.

Look up Neutral Isolator on Google.
Among other things you will find an explanation of what they do and why: http://www.bassengineering.com/sv_utility_.htm
and a history of the use of neutral isolators: http://mrec.org/files/2011/03/tachick-Dairyland-Isolators.pdf