2016 National Electrical Estimator Losing Me Jobs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Freshta

Hey everyone,

Anybody here use the most current edition of the NEE handbook? If so, do you feel you are losing jobs because of it? I'm a small time contractor.(Myself and a helper). I've been using the handbook to quote jobs here recently and it seems like more and more potential customers are telling me that I'm too high on my quotes! I just recently quoted replacing a 3R breaker panel out on the side of a house for $807. I actually priced this job low compared to the NEE book. (NEE book listed around $950) Price included all materials, labor and permit and waiting around for the inspector to ensure everything passed so that the homeowner could get their power back on as quickly as possible. I figure all said and done between 4-6 hrs to get power back on once I start. The guy tells me he has someone else that would do the job for around $600. Just in panel and breakers alone, the cost was almost $400. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,

Tony

Fulthrotl

~Autocorrect is My Worst Enema.~
Hey everyone,