Drilling through stone

Status
Not open for further replies.

Freshta

Funny that I've been doing electrical work for 25 years (mainly commercial/industrial/controls) and I've never once had to drill through stone for any reason. I have a customer wanting a GFCI outlet installed on the front of the their house to provide power for low voltage lighting and the front is stone. Any tricks to drilling to ensure it doesn't fracture?

Thanks,

Tony

junkhound

Occupation
EE, power electronics specialty
the front is stone

1/2" thick facing stone, 3" river rock, or 1/2 ton granite boulders ?

Big difference in technique to drill.

Bosch bulldog (or even HF equivalent or rental) for larger stuff or air impact drill.

If just facing 'stone', 1/2" drill with carbide bit.

Little Bill

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrician
I would do it in steps if you think it may crack.

Drill 1/4" with sharp carbide/masonry bit
Drill 3/8" "
Drill 1/2" "
All done with a rotary hammer drill

Up to the size you need for cable entry. 1/2" should do it for that and just what ever size your mounting screws are for the box.

Any chance you could drill through below the stone and conduit up to the box?
Or you could find a grout joint for the cable/wire and drill through that.

jusme123

Occupation
JW
...do not start to drill with the hammer action engaged, it will fracture if thin stone. Start drilling without hammer, similar when drilling bathroom tiles.

Little Bill

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrician
...do not start to drill with the hammer action engaged, it will fracture if thin stone. Start drilling without hammer, similar when drilling bathroom tiles.

Yep, I should have mentioned that. I don't ever start on hammer action even on my cordless stuff. Just start it slow on drill, then when I have made a good start I switch to hammer.

mgookin

I have lots of experience with bricks, blocks and rocks.
If you post a pic I can tell you how I'd tackle it.