Fused Disconnect vs. Enclosed Circuit Breaker

Status
Not open for further replies.

jap

Occupation
Electrician
If you had your choice which would you choose for a service disconnect.
I used to be a pro breaker guy but as cheaply as things are being made anymore the Fused Disconnects seem to have sustained their robust integrity.
There are pros and cons to both.

If price wasn't an issue, I'm talking 400 amps or less, which would you choose?

JAP>

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
If total cost (material & labor) was not a factor, I would recommend fusible for the reason you stated. I have seen far more breakers needing replacing than I have fusible disconnects.

ron

I hate when the main fuse blow and there is no replacement available.

I also hate it when a 3 phase service has one phase blow, and down stream 3 phase motors that may not have phase loss detection get damaged.

I like breakers, although for high fault current applications (>65kA), fuses are a better option

Carultch

I also hate it when a 3 phase service has one phase blow, and down stream 3 phase motors that may not have phase loss detection get damaged.

I've always wondered why a set of fuses is acceptable as a general purpose OCPD in a 2 or 3 pole application, for precisely this reason.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Modern circuit breakers are every bit as reliable as fuses and disconnect switches if they are properly maintained. In general, they are also more cost-effective above about 200 amps most of the time at least in my experience. Most of our customers make us include a spare set of fuses if they're over 60 amps and big fuses can get real pricey real quick.

jap

Occupation
Electrician