Fire Pump

Status
Not open for further replies.

bwyllie

If a fire pump is installed in a low-rise bldg does this need to be connected to the generator?

robbie

Re: Fire Pump

Originally posted by bwyllie:
If a fire pump is installed in a low-rise bldg does this need to be connected to the generator?
Good question. I would check with the AHJ first.

1996 NEC Art 695-3(a)(1) seems to indicate that it is OK to supply one service to the fire pump as long as it is arranged to minimize the possiblity of damage by fire from within the premises and exposing hazard. If this can't be achieved, I beleive Art 695-4(a) comes into play.

From a safety standpoint, I would provide generator backup power to the fire pump.

bwyllie

I had sometime to do some research and MA code requires a fire pump in a high rise NOT a low-rise to be on the genrator. Thanks

bonding jumper

I have some experience designing these, things to watch out for, In sizing the generator u need a minimum of 15% voltage drop for fire pumps, that can mean a generator twice the size of a typical pump, so when u speak to the generator company for sizing, make sure they are clear that its a fire pump, and not just a regular motor. U need to use MI cable to supply the pump, keep in mind u might want to use a natural gas generator also. any other questions?

rb

I agree with Tom. If the Fire Marshall determines that the utility source is unreliable, a generator can be required for any building. Check NFPA 20.

bwyllie

thanks for the comments. Why would you recommend a gas generator over a diesel generator?