Wire Type for Burial?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I'm an engineer but this is beyond my practice. Here's the deal: building a new small shop about 70' away from the pole with meter and disconnect. Got the wire size figured out just fine, 4/0-4/0-4/0-2/0 AL. The wire has to be buried. Question is, what type of wire and should it (or not) go in a conduit?

Just not anything I've had to deal with before. Thanks.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
I had temporarily closed this thread, in order to determine whether this was a DIY project. The OP convinced me, in a PM, that it is not, that it relates to his business. I am therefore reopening the thread. I offer my apologies to the OP for the delay and the inconvenience.

A/A Fuel GTX

Occupation
Electrician
Hello,

I'm an engineer but this is beyond my practice. Here's the deal: building a new small shop about 70' away from the pole with meter and disconnect. Got the wire size figured out just fine, 4/0-4/0-4/0-2/0 AL. The wire has to be buried. Question is, what type of wire and should it (or not) go in a conduit?

Just not anything I've had to deal with before. Thanks.

If you want to direct bury it, then URD is the way to go. I wouldn't do it that way unless the soil is sandy with no rocks to cause you grief later. If you run conduit, I'd go with 2 1/2" PVC and use XHHW conductors.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
If I may, use care :), "URD" (with only that rating) is actually a utility conductor and not recognized by the NEC. USE or UF would be a recognized conductor for direct burial (some 'URD' has added ratings).
For installation in a raceway, most any conductor with a "W" in the insulation. I agree the most common would probably be XHHW.

NE (9.06 miles @5.9 Degrees from Winged Horses)
Occupation
EC - retired