Service wire size

Status
Not open for further replies.

NewbieElec

Hey there, I'm a fairly new electrician trying my hand at some residential, after working mostly industrial.

I need to run some direct bury cable from a meter 200ft to the panel in a cabin. I'm coming up with 2/0 copper that I'll need to stay in voltage drop tolerance. Just wanted to double check to make sure that's correct.

Thanks!

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
With #2/0 copper you could put in a 200 amp service. VD compensation is this case is optional but if you ran the numbers then you should be good to go.

Welcome to the Forum. :)

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
You're going to have to give a lot more detail as to the calculated load per article 220, what size service, what is the actual distance you're figuring the VD at, etc....

Your question is something like asking if 14" tires will work on your car.
Without giving the particulars a correct answer is unlikely.

Roger

NewbieElec

I apologize for the fuzzy details. I just went to the site today to check it out for myself. The current service drop is about 200ft from the house and is 100A. I will be installing new service equipment at the pole to supply both the house and cabin. The total distance from the meter at the service drop to the cabin is 350ft direct buried. I'll be installing a disconnect on the side of the cabin which will then stub into the panel inside. The service for the cabin will be 100A.

So i'm plugging in these numbers:

(2 * 350ft * 100A * 10.7) / (120v *.03) = 208,055cm

So I'm coming up with #4/0 (211,600cm) that I will need from the Meter to the Disconnect. I feel like that is too big, but am unsure what I am doing wrong.

Thanks

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician