PVC and RMC fittings for a Buried Polymer Concrete Pull Box?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Installer

pullbox2.jpg
I would like to run 1 1/2" PVC conduit into this Buried Polymer Concrete Pull Box and bring 1 1/2" Rigid Out for a Under ground Conduit Run.
  • I've seen some pull boxes and Electrical Boxes with Plates with cutouts for Conduit but Polymer Concrete boxes don't have them.
  • For a PVC box, I've used Box Adapters

I've never used a Polymer Concrete Box before

• What fittings or adapters do I buy for a water tight connection for a Polymer Concrete box for the PVC conduit and the Rigid Conduit?
  • How do I make the 1 1/2" holes in the Polymer Box ? Will a standard Hole Saw cut through it?

jumper

Usually we route the pipes with a 90d elbow and come into the box from the open bottom.

Similar to this:

003ecmcbfig1.gif

hbiss

EC, Westchester, New York NEC: 2014
Occupation
EC
That box doesn't have a bottom, correct? So why would you be concerned about water tight connectors? Consider also that everything in the ground is a wet location and it's going to fill up with water anyway. Best you can do is use conductors suitable for a wet location as well as splices.

In this case I would stub-up into the bottom and not even use connectors.

-Hal

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member
Stub into the bottom with 90s, makes pulling much easier.
With 90s just set the box over them.
You will never be able to seal the connections and entries. Use good splice connection seals - heat shrink, scotch cast...
We put pea gravel in the bottom of our pull boxes, keeps them clean and cuts down on the condensation (IE moisture from the ground will condense in the gravel)

Installer

Last year we had to replace or run new the wire in thirty of these conduit runs and they were all clogged with debris , save one or two.
And we had to dig them up.