User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Core Holes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,540
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Core Holes

    Each of these runs consist of (1)3/4" for power and (1) 1-1/4" for IT on floor below so we need to core. I'm THINKING about it and not just doing but I'm sure some will say it's a dumb question. I don's see the need for 2 separate cores, couldn't you just do one bigger say 3" and run both conduits through that hole? Any reason why one couldn't? Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min without traffic from winged horses.
    Posts
    10,031
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is no law against putting both conduits in one hole, but there's more going on with those conduits than passing through the floor. There's bending, strapping, supporting, and routing of the pipes to their separate destinations. The devil is in the details.
    If you don't think too good, don't think too much.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision
    Posts
    229
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No issue with two conduits through a single core...just have to seal around them.

    We have numerous partitioned floor boxes in our building with power and comm...is this going to be done or are you just stubbing up into equipment racks or furniture?
    Gregg

    I'm just here for the pictures!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,540
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by grich View Post
    No issue with two conduits through a single core...just have to seal around them.

    We have numerous partitioned floor boxes in our building with power and comm...is this going to be done or are you just stubbing up into equipment racks or furniture?
    We will do the power portion and empty IT conduits with pull string. We will bring conduits into table/furniture(flex connnection @ table box or furn) on one side and up into wall and ceiling on the other side.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    MP89.5, Mason City Subdivision
    Posts
    229
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I actually looked at the drawing...looks like a conference room with a big TV on the wall...those IT conduits will fill up fast with CAT6 cables for laptops, conference phone, and media extenders to connect laptop A/V to the TV.
    Gregg

    I'm just here for the pictures!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    419
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    Each of these runs consist of (1)3/4" for power and (1) 1-1/4" for IT on floor below so we need to core. I'm THINKING about it and not just doing but I'm sure some will say it's a dumb question. I don's see the need for 2 separate cores, couldn't you just do one bigger say 3" and run both conduits through that hole? Any reason why one couldn't? Thanks.
    The hole question is OK as long as you meet the fire code issues. Make sure you have the right UL listing when you go through the floor as you seal it for the fire rating. The old days of making a big hole and jamming as many conduits are over.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •