User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Siemens quad breakers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    British Columbia Canada
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Siemens quad breakers

    Hello.
    I have a panel with not enough room that I am trying to install a 240v breaker in. Actually somebody already tried to install a 240v breaker and did it wrong. I am trying to fix it. This panel is one of those annoying panels where to get 240v you need a quad breaker. Well the panel is full of 240v loads already so there is no way I can fit another quad breaker in or move things around. I am writing to see if anybody knows of any breaker ties that can go from the top of a quad breaker to the bottom of a quad breaker (with a breaker tie already in the middle of this quad breaker). Or is there possibly a rule where you can tie the top of one quad breaker together with the bottom of another quad breaker? I am just outta ideas aside from installing a new panel. Thank you. If my picture uploads it’s the breaker on the bottom left that was installed wrong.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NC & IN
    Posts
    3,527
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It looks like some one has taken the outside handles off of those quad breakers that you have. You can not put a handle on one quad to fit the bottom of an other quad.


    I would consider to try to sell them a bigger service or panel...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    British Columbia Canada
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All the ones I see at Home Depot are the same. No outside bars. It would have to be a pretty exotic bar to not get in the way of the middle breakers. Do you believe there is something. I have looked at Siemens site and not seen anything.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    1,170
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, Siemens make a quad that has handle ties for the middle two and outer two breakers.
    Are you trying to replace that 20A double pole with the Quad?
    If I remember correctly the only thing you need to check is the model number if it has common trip for the outside poles or not, some do some don’t. I would look at the Siemens book for you but I’m not near it right now.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Clark County, NV
    Posts
    2,222
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, they exist. I use them. You didn't say which one you needed, and I couldn't see details in your picture. Here is one example:

    https://www.amazon.com/Siemens-Q2202...77716471&psc=1


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    British Columbia Canada
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well your sorta my hero right now with that picture. They were just push on breakers so that’s exactly what I am after!! I will have to go and check with the wholesaler to get me some of those. I really could not find that with google. Haha.

    And yes this person needs a new panel. I already have a bunch of work since they have wires doubled up on breakers. It’s so silly cause this was out in last year, undersized. It says cowboy electric which I assume is a bunch of friends doing the work. Oh this is right behind and above a hot water tank.

    Thabks all. Huge help. I have so many questions all the time. So thankful to have a place to ask them.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    5,307
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The breaker you want has the model number format Q2aabbCT2 where 'aa' and 'bb' are the respective amp ratings you want to combine. You can also use Murray MP2aa2bbCT2 unless not listed on the panel and you have a very persnickety inspector. The 'CT2' suffix is the key indicator that you're getting two 2-poles.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    British Columbia Canada
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the extra info. Your right, I can’t see the breaker specifics either in that photo. But alas you have armed me with enough to keep going, cheers.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Clark County, NV
    Posts
    2,222
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Heretohear View Post
    Thanks for the extra info. Your right, I can’t see the breaker specifics either in that photo. But alas you have armed me with enough to keep going, cheers.
    Above the photo there's also a link to a place that sells them, with a full description, and there were several models that show up on the same page.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    41,314
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Take the 2 pole 20 out, put in a larger subfeeder to another panel, move the 2 pole 20 to that panel.

    Just another option, and leaves room for additional circuits to be added. Putting a quad in what is there is the end of adding circuits to that one.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •