User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Mounting height of main ground bus bar

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Mounting height of main ground bus bar

    Hello experts,
    Is there anything in the code or industry standard that dictates how high the main ground bus bar should be mounted?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_5996 - Copy.jpg 
Views:	37 
Size:	58.6 KB 
ID:	21993
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We mount them low and high depending on the situation. In an area where someone may walk into it we mount it high otherwise typically about 4' AFF. This one is at 4' since it's tucked away in a corner.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180815_091915.jpg 
Views:	61 
Size:	148.3 KB 
ID:	21994
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    US
    Posts
    789
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Interested in hearing what this setup is for I'm assuming a large service , with multiple switches of some sort I'm having a hard time trying to figure it out lol

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    US
    Posts
    789
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Isolated grounds?

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by nickelec View Post
    Interested in hearing what this setup is for I'm assuming a large service , with multiple switches of some sort I'm having a hard time trying to figure it out lol
    He said "main ground bus bar" which is in the photo I posted is used in the service room for multiple services. In the case of the large bar in that photo we have 4-4000 amp services and various transformers and sub stations in the service room that all have GEC's going back to the ground bar.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thanks for your help

    ... I suppose based on your answer, nothing in the code dictates height, it's rather field conditions and finding appropriate location for it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Volt-Amps View Post
    ... I suppose based on your answer, nothing in the code dictates height, it's rather field conditions and finding appropriate location for it.
    Yes, I don't know if these ground bars are even mentioned anywhere in the NEC.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    16,184
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by infinity View Post
    Yes, I don't know if these ground bars are even mentioned anywhere in the NEC.
    250.64(D)(1)(3) ??
    At my age, I'm accustomed to restaurants asking me to pay in advance, but now my bank has started sending me their calendar one month at a time.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,866
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by augie47 View Post
    250.64(D)(1)(3) ??
    Or 250.30(A)(6)(c)(2).
    As far as I'm aware the NEC does not prohibit one bar to be used for both purposes.
    And as far as I'm aware one could bury such groundbars under the earth and it would not clearly violate any NEC requirements. That is unless one is also using the same bar as the 250.94 Intersystem bonding bridge. I'm not aware of anything that prohibits using one such bar for all three purposes, but 250.94 requires it to be 'accessible for connection and inspection.' That still does not put a height requirement on it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,805
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It looks like in the OPs photo that these are metallic raceways. Are the ends bonded? The one I can see appears not to be.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •