User Tag List

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 31 to 37 of 37

Thread: Short Circuit Calculations Help

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Cherry Valley NY, Seattle, WA
    Posts
    5,040
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kingpb View Post
    That is a risky proposition. Utilities use system planning numbers that have future load growth and many other parameters that would not be known to someone not having access to their information. So, what may seem "unreasonably high" to you today, it could very well be down the road a few years that changes to the distribution system means those numbers are now accurate.

    For my own knowledge, what would be the advantage of not using the utility numbers; simply to save a few bucks on equipment ratings? That makes no sense to me. The risk is too high that someone could be injured.
    In situations where I have or would do this, the transformer is dedicated to the one customer, and my calcs are based on infinite primary, so distribution changes would have no effect. I'll usually provide enough equipment rating for the next size up transformer. Yes absolutely it's about cost. All engineering weighs cost is benefit. I recently had a job where the utility used twice the transformer size they had said they would install, and didn't tell me. So there are no guarantees with anything.
    Ethan Brush - East West Electric. NY, WA. MA

    "You can't generalize"

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    SE USA as far as you can go
    Posts
    2,731
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is the MVA Method, assuming no motor contribution at either the 600A MDP or 225A Panel.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MVA Method.JPG 
Views:	27 
Size:	49.5 KB 
ID:	22068
    "Just because you're paranoid, doesn't mean they're not out to get you"

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    409
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you are close kingpb

    Here is what I get in ETAP

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SC1.jpg 
Views:	34 
Size:	8.2 KB 
ID:	22075

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    549
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,Designer: See at first in the open post:
    "that is running is 2 Sets of ( 4 # 350 kcmil + 1 # 2/0 kcmil G in 4" Conduit PVC)"

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    SE USA as far as you can go
    Posts
    2,731
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Designer69 View Post
    you are close kingpb

    Here is what I get in ETAP

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SC1.jpg 
Views:	34 
Size:	8.2 KB 
ID:	22075
    Since you don't have anything numbered or named I'm not sure what your results mean.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    "Just because you're paranoid, doesn't mean they're not out to get you"

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    409
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks kingp yours is a lot better.

    Did you put 5000MVAsc on the grid to basically indicate infinite? What did you put for the grid X/R?


    Thanks

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    SE USA as far as you can go
    Posts
    2,731
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Designer69 View Post
    Did you put 5000MVAsc on the grid to basically indicate infinite? What did you put for the grid X/R?
    Good questions.

    I usually use X/R = 15 for distribution when I don't have specific numbers.

    Yes, the 5000MVAsc is to force an infinite bus. I assigned the 13.8kV on the HV side of XFMR since it had no consequence to the evaluation.
    "Just because you're paranoid, doesn't mean they're not out to get you"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •