User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: KVA calculation for India

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    KVA calculation for India

    Hey folks,

    I have never had to ever calculate the KVA for a floor space never mind for a space in India. So my question is I have an office space in India where they use single phase 230v and three phase 415v. All I was given by my counter parts out there is that the space is 18,100 sqft. It just a typical office space if that makes a difference. Any help is greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    New York, 40.7514,-73.9925
    Posts
    4,640
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There are some variables you need to fill in. If the voltage is 415/240V and the square footage is 18,100 sqft, what do you want to know?

    It is no difference than here in the US.

    How would you do it here in the US with 208/120V and we can help you transition it to 415/240V.
    Ron

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What other info do I need? I really don’t know where to go from here. The info I gave was all I was given.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    549
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Usually you need 5 W/sqft for HVAC and 31/2 VA/sqft for lighting that means 150 kW [rough appreciation]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12,703
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ron View Post
    There are some variables you need to fill in. If the voltage is 415/240V and the square footage is [COLOR=#000000]18,100 sqft, what do you want to know?

    It is no difference than here in the US.
    I suspect that it probably is quite different.
    Si hoc legere scis nimium eruditionis habes.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Jamaica and london
    Posts
    1,250
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    from what an Indian friend of mine told me when talking with him yesterday, you need to be sure if the three phase is actually available because many places are like the UK in that they only supply with the one voltage. He said that for the most part he uses the BS7671 calculations due to local wire, etc, rather than using the NEC tables as metric wires, metric conduits, etc, are most common. But he was busy and could not send me the load calcs for an office, just that he normally starts with his old IEC book from around 98... then uses the calc tables for wiring from his 16th edition of the BS7671... for wire sizing etc...then goes to see what he can buy locally for parts, as the location in India will have some bearings as well.
    He told me that working in London is way easier than working in India because the few inspectors he deals with here are honest and know something about what they are looking at as well.

    He is always busy working for the Indian and Sikh communities here. Has all four sons now working for him as well.
    Student of electrical codes. Please Take others advice first.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    India
    Posts
    2,550
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just like NEC, there is Indian NEC. You may get a copy of it. Details are given in it to work out load requirement in Watts/Sq.m and also suggestions to take into account manufacturer recommendations for special loads. You may also have to install power factor correction equipment to avoid penalty from POCO. Depending size of your load, POCO will provide you 3 phase supply and you have bear the cost for it .......naturally.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •