User Tag List

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 42

Thread: Dimming Wires

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,556
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So what's crazy to me is if you have a job that's full conduit you have to run two separate conduits to each fixture one for dimming wires and one for power. On a big job that can be a huge cost. Thanks

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    24,140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    So what's crazy to me is if you have a job that's full conduit you have to run two separate conduits to each fixture one for dimming wires and one for power. On a big job that can be a huge cost. Thanks

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
    Buy the luminaries with dimming systems that can be wired as either a Class 1 system or a Class 2 system. The ones that are suitable for Class 1 control circuits can have their control conductors in the same raceway with the power conductors as long as the insulation is rated for the highest voltage in the conduit.
    Don, Illinois
    (All code citations are 2017 unless otherwise noted)

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min without traffic from winged horses.
    Posts
    10,064
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by don_resqcapt19 View Post
    Buy the luminaries with dimming systems that can be wired as either a Class 1 system or a Class 2 system. The ones that are suitable for Class 1 control circuits can have their control conductors in the same raceway with the power conductors as long as the insulation is rated for the highest voltage in the conduit.
    All the 0-10V controlled lights I have wired up have the power conductors and dimming conductors going to the same make up box on the fixture and the dimmers have no way to separate the power and dimming wires in the junction box for the switch, so are they by default "re-classifiable"?

    What does it even mean to re-classify a class 2 power supply or system?
    If you don't think too good, don't think too much.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,556
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by don_resqcapt19 View Post
    Buy the luminaries with dimming systems that can be wired as either a Class 1 system or a Class 2 system. The ones that are suitable for Class 1 control circuits can have their control conductors in the same raceway with the power conductors as long as the insulation is rated for the highest voltage in the conduit.
    But the Lutron equipment that's feeding the fixtures are rated class 2

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    24,140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ActionDave View Post
    All the 0-10V controlled lights I have wired up have the power conductors and dimming conductors going to the same make up box on the fixture and the dimmers have no way to separate the power and dimming wires in the junction box for the switch, so are they by default "re-classifiable"?

    What does it even mean to re-classify a class 2 power supply or system?
    The code permits them to be in the same box for the connections to the equipment. The code does not permit them to be in the same raceway or cable.
    Reclassification just means you remove or cover all the Class 2 markings and wire the controls using a Chapter 3 wiring method. In that case, the control wiring must follow the same rules as the power wiring.
    Don, Illinois
    (All code citations are 2017 unless otherwise noted)

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    24,140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    But the Lutron equipment that's feeding the fixtures are rated class 2
    Buy a brand that works for your installation, or wire the Class 2 equipment per the code rules.
    Don, Illinois
    (All code citations are 2017 unless otherwise noted)

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min without traffic from winged horses.
    Posts
    10,064
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by don_resqcapt19 View Post
    The code permits them to be in the same box for the connections to the equipment. The code does not permit them to be in the same raceway or cable.
    Reclassification just means you remove or cover all the Class 2 markings and wire the controls using a Chapter 3 wiring method. In that case, the control wiring must follow the same rules as the power wiring.
    That makes sense. Thank you.
    If you don't think too good, don't think too much.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,556
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ActionDave View Post
    All the 0-10V controlled lights I have wired up have the power conductors and dimming conductors going to the same make up box on the fixture and the dimmers have no way to separate the power and dimming wires in the junction box for the switch, so are they by default "re-classifiable"?

    What does it even mean to re-classify a class 2 power supply or system?
    Not sure what you mean. You can have two separate conduits(power & 0-10v) going to same box.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    41,338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    Thanks. Which code section does it not allow to mix these even is same insulation?
    Basically the general requirements for a class 2 circuit.

    The rule isn't so much "same insulation" as it is "rated for the maximum voltage applied to any of the conductors". You can have 300 and 600 volt insulation in same raceway if none of those conductors is used for more than 300 volts.


    I am not all up to speed on what is all out there for low volt lighting control/dimming, but similar situations have been around for a long time with HVAC controls.

    If you want to run the 24 volt control conductors in same raceway with power wiring - it usually needed to be the raceway containing the power wiring to that HVAC equipment and not just any raceway with power wiring in it. You then needed to use conductors rated for maximum voltage present in the raceway. Then you must make it so the class 2 source is no longer identified as a class 2 source. Along with that goes making all of the control circuit comply with rules for a class 1 circuit - meaning you will use a line voltage thermostat instead of one intended for use only on class 2 circuits. You can not run half the circuit within power raceway because it is convenient then transition to CL 2 cable and run the other half the circuit to a typical CL2 thermostat, or other CL2 only system devices.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,556
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kwired View Post
    Basically the general requirements for a class 2 circuit.

    The rule isn't so much "same insulation" as it is "rated for the maximum voltage applied to any of the conductors". You can have 300 and 600 volt insulation in same raceway if none of those conductors is used for more than 300 volts.


    I am not all up to speed on what is all out there for low volt lighting control/dimming, but similar situations have been around for a long time with HVAC controls.

    If you want to run the 24 volt control conductors in same raceway with power wiring - it usually needed to be the raceway containing the power wiring to that HVAC equipment and not just any raceway with power wiring in it. You then needed to use conductors rated for maximum voltage present in the raceway. Then you must make it so the class 2 source is no longer identified as a class 2 source. Along with that goes making all of the control circuit comply with rules for a class 1 circuit - meaning you will use a line voltage thermostat instead of one intended for use only on class 2 circuits. You can not run half the circuit within power raceway because it is convenient then transition to CL 2 cable and run the other half the circuit to a typical CL2 thermostat, or other CL2 only system devices.
    So can't run the 0-10v dimming wires with 120v power if the dimming wires are 600v insulation?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •