User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Ground rod installation for shed building required or not?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Indian Land
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Ground rod installation for shed building required or not?

    Sunday funday. So to my understanding in a residential setting it is required to install a ground rod for a new sub panel install at the shed building where the panel will be installed. Am I correct?

    Here's what I would do.
    1) PVC underground dig trench dig it deep enough by referencing burial depth chart.

    2) pull in 4 wires to match 50 amp load of new sub panel...(2 hots,neutral, and ecg)from main panel of home to subpanel at shed.

    3)drive ground rod in ground 8 feet down til just above grade.

    4) don't bond mbj at subpanel. It's already bonded at main panel.

    5) run and connect ground from sub panel to ground rod at shed.

    6) terminate 4 conductors from main panel to subpanel.(2hot,neutral and egc.)

    7) distance is roughly 100 feet away from house to shed.

    Let me know what you think. Happy Sunday to all.






    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    27,234
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds fine but you'll need two ground rods or prove that one is 25 Ω or less and the rod(s) need to at or below grade to the top.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Roughly 5346 miles from Earls Court
    Posts
    2,822
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Danny89 View Post
    So to my understanding in a residential setting it is required to install a ground rod for a new sub panel install at the shed building where the panel will be installed. Am I correct?
    That's pretty much true for any structure that's fed by more than a branch circuit (residential or not, see 250.32). Otherwise, that all looks OK.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    25,187
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by infinity View Post
    Sounds fine but you'll need two ground rods or prove that one is 25 Ω or less and the rod(s) need to at or below grade to the top.
    Interestingly, I've never been required to provide more than a single rod for a detached building.
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    27,234
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by LarryFine View Post
    Interestingly, I've never been required to provide more than a single rod for a detached building.
    You're not required to install any rods but you are required to connect to a GES or a single electrode is none are present. A single rod needs to be 25 Ω or less to qualify as an electrode or two rods.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Indian Land
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Awesome thanks guys!

    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Common grounding electrode

    Quote Originally Posted by infinity View Post
    You're not required to install any rods but you are required to connect to a GES or a single electrode is none are present. A single rod needs to be 25 Ω or less to qualify as an electrode or two rods.
    So, would it be permissible to run the GEC back to the house and tap the existing Grounding Electrode System?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Roughly 5346 miles from Earls Court
    Posts
    2,822
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg1707 View Post
    So, would it be permissible to run the GEC back to the house and tap the existing Grounding Electrode System?
    Essentially, you do, but it's an ECG from the house to the shed.

    Possibly oversimplifying the whole thing (and some exceptions apply)--

    every structure must have it's own GES, which is composed of grounding electrodes (rod or rods, ufer, plate, etc) and a GEC connecting them (house is a structure, shed is another structure, etc).

    if the structure is fed by a feeder (not a service), that feeder must contain a ECG (more exceptions, not relevant to most new installations).

    the structure's GES must connect to the ECG in the feeder.

    In the end, run a 4-wire feeder from the house, pound two rods at the shed, connect the rods to the grounding conductor from the house and to the ground bar in the subpanel. Profit .

    I'm sure there's a Mike Holt graphic of all this.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    shared GES

    Can both structures share the same GES? For example, if the ground rods for the house are close by is there a need to install additional rods or can the nearby house rods be used?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    25,187
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They can be shared and, if close enough, should be.
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •