User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Switchboards

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    349
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Switchboards

    We have a 2500a SwitchBoard to be installed. The building is tilt wall and is existing and the conduit runs cant be feed under ground. We will need to run conduit thru the wall to Switchboard. The Switchboard will sit against the wall and back side will sit against the wall on backside. The only part i am worried is that the instructions request we not penetrate side panels and we cant enter bottom because its an existing building. i guess we could enter top but the drawings suggest 6-4'' conduits for parallel feeds to Switchboard and that would take most of my space for feeder conduits. I hope I explained it enough to get idea of my situation. I am basically looking to hear if anyone has any suggestions on how to feed Switchboard without entering thru bottom.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
    Posts
    8,830
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would add a pull section to the side. So you would bring your incoming cables into the top of the pull section, then loop down and connect to the bus or main from the bottom. That leaves the entire top of the board for your feeder cables / conduits.

    Don't judge the picture here, I just pulled something from the web to illustrate the concept. I have no idea what all that other stuff is in there.
    Name:  15a_RHunterPH6.jpg
Views: 254
Size:  46.1 KB
    __________________________________________________ ____________________________
    Many people are shocked when they discover I am not a good electrician...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    WI, USA
    Posts
    414
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bus duct

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Cherry Valley NY, Seattle, WA
    Posts
    5,902
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'll be the one to say it: just come in the side. It's done 37 times every day. Come into the back of a pull box nippled into the side of the swbd.
    Ethan Brush - East West Electric. NY, WA. MA

    "You can't generalize"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    27,492
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can add a crown box to the top of the switchboard and come into the side of that with your 6 conduits. Just make sure that the board is designed to be top fed.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    349
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by electrofelon View Post
    I'll be the one to say it: just come in the side. It's done 37 times every day. Come into the back of a pull box nippled into the side of the swbd.
    That was my plan but With 6-4'' conduits it will look pretty beefy. I guess I dont have a choice we cant trench under building.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    349
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by publicgood View Post
    Bus duct
    how would something like that look. Is this something that can be ordered. i just need it to stab to outside of building so I can bring conduit/wire to that area and I dont have to run 6-4'' conduits for 2500a feed. thanks for any help

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    WI, USA
    Posts
    414
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mannyb View Post
    how would something like that look. Is this something that can be ordered. i just need it to stab to outside of building so I can bring conduit/wire to that area and I dont have to run 6-4'' conduits for 2500a feed. thanks for any help
    https://www.eaton.com/ecm/idcplg?Idc...me=TB01701002E


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    24,155
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by publicgood View Post
    Bus duct
    I would never consider bus duct where any part of the bus duct run would be outside. I worked in a plant for a large plastics manufacturer and they had repeated outside bus duct failures at the plant I worked in and other plants. Even though the bus duct was rated for outside locations, over time water gets into the connections and can result in failure. They removed all of their outside bus duct and replaced it with cable bus.
    Don, Illinois
    (All code citations are 2017 unless otherwise noted)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    WI, USA
    Posts
    414
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by don_resqcapt19 View Post
    I would never consider bus duct where any part of the bus duct run would be outside. I worked in a plant for a large plastics manufacturer and they had repeated outside bus duct failures at the plant I worked in and other plants. Even though the bus duct was rated for outside locations, over time water gets into the connections and can result in failure. They removed all of their outside bus duct and replaced it with cable bus.
    Do you know if they installed heaters within the bus duct? Took precautions (and followed code) by utilizing vapor barriers at entrances of buildings? Derate for ambient? IR connections periodically?

    There are several factors that need to be done correctly to achieve reliability.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •