User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: wireway fill

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    wireway fill

    I need to a wireway for 6 paralleled 4-600mcm looking to see if i did this right. I wanted to use a 12x12 wireway

    12x12x20%= 28.8 / .8676 or 600mcm wire= 33.1 meaning i can install 33-600mcm wires. So i can use 12x12 wireway? did i do this right?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Wilmington, NC USA
    Posts
    802
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mannyb View Post
    I need to a wireway for 6 paralleled 4-600mcm looking to see if i did this right. I wanted to use a 12x12 wireway

    12x12x20%= 28.8 / .8676 or 600mcm wire= 33.1 meaning i can install 33-600mcm wires. So i can use 12x12 wireway? did i do this right?
    Looks right to me.

    I'm assuming you are not going to splice in this wireway.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by oldsparky52 View Post
    Looks right to me.

    I'm assuming you are not going to splice in this wireway.
    no Sir we just need the wireway to extend wire into building. We want to use wireway as a chase or extention into a Switchboard. BTW You think we need to use bonding bushings to each and or all penetrations?? There will be 6 conduits for feed.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Wilmington, NC USA
    Posts
    802
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mannyb View Post
    no Sir we just need the wireway to extend wire into building. We want to use wireway as a chase or extention into a Switchboard. BTW You think we need to use bonding bushings to each and or all penetrations?? There will be 6 conduits for feed.
    If you are punching your own holes to the correct size, then no you don't need a bonding bushing. I would however use a bonding locknut (that's just me).

    What type conduit are you using?

    Where are you entering the wireway (at the ends only, at the top or bottom, or combination)?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mannyb View Post
    BTW You think we need to use bonding bushings to each and or all penetrations??
    Are these service conductors or feeders? Voltage, concentric KO?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    do electricians typically use power distribution blocks inside wireways or do they prefer to just splice the cables?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •