User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Remote desktop

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Wilmington, NC USA
    Posts
    671
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulMmn View Post
    I think I understand what you're doing now...

    The Main Office Computer is on HER desk, and you're using a computer on YOUR desk and using RDP to access her computer and run QB on her computer.

    And the system seems faster when you use RDP, than when you sit at her desk and run the program there.

    Do I have it correct now??
    I think that's what he was saying.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.06 miles @5.9 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    11,224
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulMmn View Post
    I think I understand what you're doing now...

    The Main Office Computer is on HER desk, and you're using a computer on YOUR desk and using RDP to access her computer and run QB on her computer.

    And the system seems faster when you use RDP, than when you sit at her desk and run the program there.

    Do I have it correct now??
    Tom
    TBLO

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    41,277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    But AFAIK when using remote desktop, all you are doing is extending user interface to another computer's resources. The running apps are still running on the host machine. With RD, you can go in start something, disconnect or even lose connection and it will continue to do anything you may have started. If you try to move the on screen pointer one way and a person at that computer tries to move it the other way at same time, it is difficult for either one to accomplish what they are trying to do. No different than having two mouse devices connected and trying to move them different ways at same time.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Wilmington, NC USA
    Posts
    671
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ptonsparky View Post
    Occasionally I use Remote Desktop to control my Main Office Computer when my office help is gone. This seems to be quicker than when I sit at that computer. Especially if I am using QB on the MOC. Why?

    We we are on the same office network.

    Could that ^ have something to do with it?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    41,277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by oldsparky52 View Post
    Could that ^ have something to do with it?
    It can. What else is running on that computer at same time can have an impact.

    If Windows 10 is trying to configure or install a major update, it can slow everything down considerably. Enough to make you think something is wrong, especially if you have somewhat marginal memory, processor, etc.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.06 miles @5.9 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    11,224
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by oldsparky52 View Post
    Could that ^ have something to do with it?
    Not in this case. I can sit in front of, use that computer logged on has her or me, and the difference between that and RD is noticeable.
    Tom
    TBLO

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •