User Tag List

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: How do I site, or walk , as straight line to mark a conduit Run w/o a Survey Transit

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Union, KY, USA
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by romex jockey View Post
    I keep a close watch on UG’s of mine
    I keep my eyes wide open all the time
    I know most diggers can’t dig straight lines
    Because it's mine, I walk the line

    I find it very easy to transit, tape or string
    I find myself admitting it’s just not their thing
    Yes, I'll submit that I've a tool for you
    Because it's mine, I walk the line

    As sure as night is dark and day is light
    There's just no way to make two wrongs a right
    And litigation proves only deep pockets right
    Because it's mine, I walk the line

    They've given me these codes to keep by my side
    But none of them will matter if they want my hide
    And it's a given that i'll never turn that tide
    Because it's mine, I walk the line


    ~R(w/apologies to the man in black)J~
    I know of at least 3 men in black (well, 5):

    Johnny Cash

    Roy Orbison

    Dread Pirate Roberts

    Smith & Jones

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA (19 Hrs. 22 Min. from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    7,063
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cowboyjwc View Post
    Someone asked why it needed to be straight, remember that the 360 degrees worth of bends is not just 90's or what ever, in 400' I've seen lots of runs that could possibly have more bending than allowed.

    I have one now in a much shorter run that has 4 90's and a long radius bend. Now I don't have to pull it and I'm not that big of "you know what" to call that, but.......
    around here, da POCO requires 12' radius sweeps underground, as it doesn't count as a 90 to them,
    so they end up with two 90's, one at each end.

    the real reason we are limited to 4 90's is that the electricity gets dizzy if it turns too much.
    remember it's going close to the speed of light, and sharp turns at that speed are upsetting.
    ~New signature under construction.~
    ~~~~Please excuse the mess.~~~~

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Wilmington, NC USA
    Posts
    722
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fulthrotl View Post
    around here, da POCO requires 12' radius sweeps underground, as it doesn't count as a 90 to them,
    so they end up with two 90's, one at each end.
    Some years ago, I was upgrading the electrical at a marina and the PoCo wanted to move some transformers in the process. They sent a 4-man crew out to do the work. They installed a 2" conduit from where the old transformer was to where the new location would be (this is a city owned PoCo). As they finished the conduit work and before they started to backfill, I mentioned to the foreman that 6 90's was a little much to be pulling through. Of course I got the I know what I'm doing routine stay out of my business.

    Well, I had a good chuckle when they had to dig down and find the 90 they were hung up in. I think they used a steel cable to pull their wire and it burned through a 90 (I believe it was the 5th on from where they started their pull) and the pulling stopped when the conductors got there (5th 90). I really enjoyed watching that know it all deal with this, but had sense enough to mind my own business at that moment.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    25,492
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by oldsparky52 View Post
    Of course I got the I know what I'm doing routine stay out of my business.
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta,GA
    Posts
    6,397
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fulthrotl View Post
    get some form string.
    drive a stick at each end of the run.
    pull the string tight between them.
    It's hard to go wrong with just the basics.

    I once saw some guys trying to set up a laser to level the ceiling of a bathroom ( only about 6' X 8' ). There was a perfectly good 4 ft level right there. How much more level will you get with a laser ?
    The 95% of people that you can't trust give the other 5% a bad name.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Tampa, FL, USA
    Posts
    2,426
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    deleted

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Arcata, CA
    Posts
    457
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had to Ditch Witch a 900 foot trench for poco to run a gas line in, and since I could see the entire (flat) run plus another several hundred feet, I just put a tall stake in the ground at the end, and another 200 feet past the end. As I ran the machine, I just kept both lined up (sort of like the sights on a rifle).

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Eastern Oregon
    Posts
    3,787
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The diggers around here stretch a string tight, and then walk down it spray painting marks. If you couldn't do it all in one shot, you may be able to break the run up into halves or thirds with the string method.

    Quote Originally Posted by Barbqranch View Post
    I had to Ditch Witch a 900 foot trench for poco to run a gas line in, and since I could see the entire (flat) run plus another several hundred feet, I just put a tall stake in the ground at the end, and another 200 feet past the end. As I ran the machine, I just kept both lined up (sort of like the sights on a rifle).
    I've done similar with lining up a hood ornament on a Ditch Witch.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    41,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Barbqranch View Post
    I had to Ditch Witch a 900 foot trench for poco to run a gas line in, and since I could see the entire (flat) run plus another several hundred feet, I just put a tall stake in the ground at the end, and another 200 feet past the end. As I ran the machine, I just kept both lined up (sort of like the sights on a rifle).
    Most electrical runs yes, get a reference point on your machine and keep it pointed at a target. If you need precision then you may need a string, but that kind of precision often isn't needed on electrical runs. Building footing trenches- yes.

    For other utility locating - if your proposed path is close at all to an existing utility - they generally will locate anything within 20 or depending on circumstances even within 100 feet of your proposed path.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •