User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Finishing someone else's work

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Finishing someone else's work

Had a home owner call me to finish a project that another Electrician didn't finish....for one reason or another....it's a kitchen remodel....

How would you bid it? I can't see me doing it for anything but time and material because I don't know what loose ends there are.

I'm new to the estimating side of things
    .....Still just happy to be here.....

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by shputnik View Post
    Had a home owner call me to finish a project that another Electrician didn't finish....for one reason or another....it's a kitchen remodel....

How would you bid it? I can't see me doing it for anything but time and material because I don't know what loose ends there are.

I'm new to the estimating side of things
    Not only loose ends, but potentially hidden flaws inside walls. A lot of folks are not comfortable taking over with the walls closed unless they know the original contractor's work.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by GoldDigger View Post
    Not only loose ends, but potentially hidden flaws inside walls. A lot of folks are not comfortable taking over with the walls closed unless they know the original contractor's work.
    I have two million dollar liability.... would that cover me just for what I'm doing...am I accepting liability on the other contractors work....

It's an Crouse Hinds panel. I plan on afci protection.....Does Crouse hinds list Murray breakers?

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How many jobs have you ever walked away from in the middle ? If you do there will probably be a good reason.

Did they get an inspection on the job? Who holds the permit?

There may not even have been another electrician the homeowner may have gotten in over his/her head.