User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: disconnect

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    322
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    disconnect

    We have a few FCU part of AC units that have a on and off switch. Could the on and off switch be used as disconnecting means instead of a regular disconnect? Its a regular abb 3 phase switch. These will be in the ceiling and trying not to put disconnect if not needed.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would consider the factory switch the disconnect, as long as it says on and off and breaks the power legs.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Clark County, NV
    Posts
    2,222
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Questions like this are always better if we can see the actual machine. Is the model number available?

    If not, where in the machine is the switch? Is it immediately where the power enters the machine, and look as if it is intended to be used as a disconnect?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,081
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Any specifications required?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    322
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MAC702 View Post
    Questions like this are always better if we can see the actual machine. Is the model number available?

    If not, where in the machine is the switch? Is it immediately where the power enters the machine, and look as if it is intended to be used as a disconnect?
    yes I know but I can never download pic to site. basically its the part of ac unit duct that controls air flow or VAV. It has a door that is locked when on and open when unit is off. similar to on/off on a motor starter cabinet.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    322
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Chamuit View Post
    Any specifications required?
    i dont see any specifications required other than the required disconnecting means usually required on this type application for servicing.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,081
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just did a quick Google. All I could see on any manufacturer cut-sheets were "sized to MCA" for toggle switches.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    322
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Chamuit View Post
    I just did a quick Google. All I could see on any manufacturer cut-sheets were "sized to MCA" for toggle switches.
    The FCU s call for fused disconnects on drawings. I guess we a stuck running fused disconnects. Thanks for help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •