User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Microwave and dedicated receptacle

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Glen bunie, md, us
    Posts
    494
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Microwave and dedicated receptacle

    Does kitchen microwave not microwave oven require dedicated receptacle or can the microwave receptacle be part of parallel receptacles branch circuit? Where in code?

    Sent from my SM-G935U using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    13,932
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you talking over the range or one sitting on the counter? It does not require a separate circuit if the microwave is fixed in place and isn't more than 50% of the branch circuit rating of 20 amps. Practically this means a microwave needs a separate circuit.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Glen bunie, md, us
    Posts
    494
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by peter d View Post
    Are you talking over the range or one sitting on the counter? It does not require a separate circuit if the microwave is fixed in place and isn't more than 50% of the branch circuit rating of 20 amps. Practically this means a microwave needs a separate circuit.
    Over the range like in dewelling unit kitchen. Where in code it says all that?
    Last edited by hhsting; 05-22-19 at 07:02 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,875
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You need also follow the mfg instructions. Most I have seen require a separate circuit.
    A 1000w Micro has a input of about 1500w

    Look at 220.23
    Last edited by Sierrasparky; 05-22-19 at 07:46 PM. Reason: added article

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tennessee NEC:2017
    Posts
    5,261
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If it's going over the stove/range then it needs a separate circuit. The code says for "hood" and since the MW is there it needs it. Also the MW has an exhaust fan built in.
    If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Glen bunie, md, us
    Posts
    494
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Little Bill View Post
    If it's going over the stove/range then it needs a separate circuit. The code says for "hood" and since the MW is there it needs it. Also the MW has an exhaust fan built in.
    Dont follow microwave has no hood. How can hood article apply to microwave?

    Sent from my SM-G935U using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Cherry Valley NY, Seattle, WA
    Posts
    5,743
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by hhsting View Post
    Dont follow microwave has no hood. How can hood article apply to microwave?

    Sent from my SM-G935U using Tapatalk
    Over the range microwaves usually are a hood unit as well, don't recall ever seeing one that wasn't. I guess you could have a regular micro on a shelf above the range, above a standalone hood or no hood at all.....
    Ethan Brush - East West Electric. NY, WA. MA

    "You can't generalize"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,875
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The issue really is the what the manufacture says and also if its rated over 50% of the branch circuit. How many code sections does one need to say " separate or dedicated circuit "

    There is no way around it unless its a free standing unit.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hawthorne, New York NEC: 2014
    Posts
    4,703
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by hhsting View Post
    Dont follow microwave has no hood. How can hood article apply to microwave?
    If it's going over a stove then it HAS to have an exhaust hood!!

    -Hal

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Clark County, NV
    Posts
    2,222
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by hbiss View Post
    If it's going over a stove then it HAS to have an exhaust hood!!
    I suppose it's possible that the range has a downdraft. Would that suffice?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •