User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Conduit termination required?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    phoenix az
    Posts
    314
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    look at it this way- as long as the stubs were properly layed out- it is nice having a raceway from the ats to the gen cabinet... then you dont have to fly the gen out to re-pull or whatever...with that being said, i sure see alot of facility generators with flying splices. pull them, through on some liquid tight then drop the gen on it.

    ok, flying conductors, not splices... oops.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jap View Post
    I'm still trying to figure out why someone would suggest to cut it off at the ground instead of flexing from it to the OCPD Enclosure inside the Gen Set.

    Something's telling me there's more to this story.


    JAP>
    Suggesting cutting at the ground was clearly a poor choice. That's why I come here, to make sure I get it right and get different angles. Have things pointed out to me and bring me down a peg when I get my head in the clouds...

    The problem we are having with flexing from the PVC to the OCPD enclosure is the flex would go to several different spots on said enclosure. We have 4x 3 1/2" raceways... so I guess the question is one of aesthetics. The bossman thinks free air(ing) the conductors will make for a better looking installation.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Eastern Oregon
    Posts
    3,787
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Over here in farm country, I'd be concerned about rodent damage with free air conductors.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    5,320
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wrobotronic View Post
    Hello All,
    i have a situation where a contractor is telling me to free air conductors that are feeding a huge generator. The main run is PVC from the ATS and pops up inside the generator enclosure. Then flex from there to the OCPD cabinet.

    basically, the UG 3 1/2” pvc needs to transition to 3 1/2” flex to get in the bottom of cabinet.
    He wants me to cut off the PVC at the ground and eliminate the flex, thus free air about 2 to 3 feet.
    ...
    I think we still don't have enough information. You have a 'cabinet' inside an 'enclosure'? Normally the NEC allows conductors to be run individually inside 'enclosures', and that's not the same as 'in free air'. What is it about this enclosure that makes you feel differently? Just it's size, or anything else? Maybe a pic of this 'enclosure' would help.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jaggedben View Post
    I think we still don't have enough information. You have a 'cabinet' inside an 'enclosure'? Normally the NEC allows conductors to be run individually inside 'enclosures', and that's not the same as 'in free air'. What is it about this enclosure that makes you feel differently? Just it's size, or anything else? Maybe a pic of this 'enclosure' would help.
    I cant for the life of me get a picture uploaded... I'm quite frustrated with it.. not sure wtf I'm doing wrong... sorry

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    25,492
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wrobotronic View Post
    I cant for the life of me get a picture uploaded... I'm quite frustrated with it.. not sure wtf I'm doing wrong... sorry
    No apologies necessary. Image on your computer?

    Click on 'insert image' icon above the response window (second row, square frame icon next to the icon with the red X), click on 'from computer', click on 'choose file', navigate to your image, click on it then on 'open', then click on 'upload file(s).
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,937
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wrobotronic View Post
    Hello All,
    i have a situation where a contractor is telling me to free air conductors that are feeding a huge generator. The main run is PVC from the ATS and pops up inside the generator enclosure. Then flex from there to the OCPD cabinet.

    basically, the UG 3 1/2” pvc needs to transition to 3 1/2” flex to get in the bottom of cabinet.
    He wants me to cut off the PVC at the ground and eliminate the flex, thus free air about 2 to 3 feet.

    I was was under the impression that the raceway needs to be completed from start to finish.
    While he says it’s allowed because the inside of the generator is only accessible by authorized personnel.

    is there a code section requiring the conduit run to terminate/ be completed. Or is he right (if so is there an article that covers his method)?
    I've seen this a number of times. It is my opinion that it is not code compliant as the genset weather housing is not an electrical enclosure, rather a generator set enclosure. I've heard the argument that this is no different than open bottom switchgear but I don't agree.
    I've most often seen it done where not enough thought and study of the genset and enclosure was put into the roughing stage of the conduits in the slab and they end up with a situation where there is no way to gracefully flex to the breaker enclosure. Sometimes the stub up is even beneath an obstruction and you can't even get a fitting on it , let alone a piece of flex.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by texie View Post
    I've seen this a number of times. It is my opinion that it is not code compliant as the genset weather housing is not an electrical enclosure, rather a generator set enclosure. I've heard the argument that this is no different than open bottom switchgear but I don't agree.
    I've most often seen it done where not enough thought and study of the genset and enclosure was put into the roughing stage of the conduits in the slab and they end up with a situation where there is no way to gracefully flex to the breaker enclosure. Sometimes the stub up is even beneath an obstruction and you can't even get a fitting on it , let alone a piece of flex.
    Thank you for that. I think at this point I am going to let the AHJ make the call... I will use the 300.12ex2 as my case, and hope he agrees.

    I don't wanna get to far in the weeds and argue semantics, but the exception just says "open bottom equipment", and doesn't mention the need for it to be an "electrical enclosure".

    That said, my gut agrees with you. I will install and NOT cut the PVC at the pad, but keep it above to allow for flex attachment should the AHJ make that call...

    I am very grateful for the help I receive here..

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Wilmington, NC USA
    Posts
    719
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by texie View Post
    I've seen this a number of times. It is my opinion that it is not code compliant as the genset weather housing is not an electrical enclosure, rather a generator set enclosure. I've heard the argument that this is no different than open bottom switchgear but I don't agree.
    I've most often seen it done where not enough thought and study of the genset and enclosure was put into the roughing stage of the conduits in the slab and they end up with a situation where there is no way to gracefully flex to the breaker enclosure. Sometimes the stub up is even beneath an obstruction and you can't even get a fitting on it , let alone a piece of flex.
    +1

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4,174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wrobotronic View Post
    Thank you for that. I think at this point I am going to let the AHJ make the call... I will use the 300.12ex2 as my case, and hope he agrees.

    I don't wanna get to far in the weeds and argue semantics, but the exception just says "open bottom equipment", and doesn't mention the need for it to be an "electrical enclosure".

    That said, my gut agrees with you. I will install and NOT cut the PVC at the pad, but keep it above to allow for flex attachment should the AHJ make that call...

    I am very grateful for the help I receive here..

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
    All this time I thought you were describing an existing installation.

    Seems as though you are still in the rough in stage.

    Regardless of whether or not the conductors are allowed to be free aired or need to be flexed inside of the generator, as others have suggested, the most common thing to do is to keep the stub ups high enough above the slab to do something with.

    At least leave enough to glue a TA and Bushing onto the stubup, if it comes to that.

    JAP>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •