# 10 Romex overcurrent protection

Status
Not open for further replies.

noon9elec

I am far from an engineer but am curious about what is the real amperage capabilities of # 10 copper. 310.16 says 35 amps if it is rated at 70 C. and is THHN , which I believe Romex is. I am on a job where the installation is over 50 yrs old and they protected the 10/3 circuit with a 2-P 40-amp breaker. I want to change breaker, which includes new panel, but engineer says I am over thinking it and leave it alone. thoughts? thank you

curt swartz

Electrical Contractor - San Jose, CA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
NM cable must be sized using the 60C column except when applying adjustment factors. As Larry asked what type of load is being supplied? The 40 may be ok.

Another C10

Electrical Contractor 1987 - present
Occupation
Electrician NEC 2020
I am far from an engineer but am curious about what is the real amperage capabilities of # 10 copper. 310.16 says 35 amps if it is rated at 70 C. and is THHN , which I believe Romex is. I am on a job where the installation is over 50 yrs old and they protected the 10/3 circuit with a 2-P 40-amp breaker. I want to change breaker, which includes new panel, but engineer says I am over thinking it and leave it alone. thoughts? thank you

I figured I'd blow away the cobwebs upstairs and do some research on this because normally I simply wouldn't exceed a 30 A breaker but your 310.16 mentioned as you stated, 35 Amp. I found that NM (older romex) is rated for 60C making it 30A. NM-B claims its internal conductor is either a THHN being 90C or a THWN rated at 75C .. noted on article 310.104 . Now this is were it gets interesting because notice the 10** that ( **) now directs one to 240.4(D) which then sends us to... shall not exceed D1 - 7 ... look at 240.4 (D) (7) 10AWG 30A. I wont say what I think of that big circle of research other than I'd stick with a 30A. breaker. or if they really want a 40 amp throw in an 8/3 better safe than sorry.