120 vs 240 1 Phase efficiency

Status
Not open for further replies.

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
If deciding between the two choices, I'll opt for the higher voltage every time, unless there's a compelling reason not to.

Flicker Index

Occupation
Lights
I have been an electrician for 38 years and am retired now. I am totally second guessing myself and need some input. To me watts are watts weather a load is 120 volts at 10 amps or the load is 240 volt 1 ph at 5 amp you are consuming 1200 watts and the efficiency of the equipment is the same. Seems very simple to me but again I am second guessing myself since a neighbor's pool guy him it's more efficient to run his pool pump and heater at 240. Thanks in advance for your help.
You aren't incorrect in theory, but he isn't incorrect in practical sense either.

Take for example, 1500W space heater. If it's drawing 12A and you're seeing 119v under load, 124v unloaded.
The unit is producing 1428W. If it's still 124v at the transformer primary, then you're losing 60W between the transformer and the heater. All else being equal, the loss is 15W if it was operated at twice the nominal voltage.

For something more complex than a heating element...
T8 32W lamp ballasts with identical load, 120-277v rated ballasts often consume about a watt or two less per ballast on 277 compared to 120 due to increased converter efficiency, but the consumption doesn't drop further, and sometimes goes up with a 347v version. Even PC power supplies run slightly more efficient at 240v vs 120v. These differences are more than negligible when you have many floors of office or tons of servers in a data center.

Last edited:

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
You aren't incorrect in theory, but he isn't incorrect in practical sense either.

Take for example, 1500W space heater. If it's drawing 12A and you're seeing 119v under load, 124v unloaded.