120V across conductors

Status
Not open for further replies.

working4living

Hello everyone! Newbie here. I have a question and please accept my apology if this is the wrong section for this but question is this......also an apprentice so wanting to learn.

Had friends parents call me and wanted me to look at the power to the garage............
here is the setup

#10 coming from main panel in the house to a panel in shed
then #12 goes from panel in shed to garage
when i pull off the red wire and the black is still hot on breaker i get 120V across the black and the red??
I have told them we will need someone with more experience of course but my question is............what the heck is going on there???
is a neutral contacting the red somewhere between the panel and the garage???

Thank you in advance!!

ActionDave

Chief Moderator
Staff member
Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min from the winged horses.
Occupation
Licensed Electrician
Had friends parents call me and wanted me to look at the power to the garage..........
This will continue to happen.
I have told them we will need someone with more experience of course
Good.
but my question is............what the heck is going on there???
What is the reason you were asked to check out the garage?
Where are you checking the voltage, at the shed or the garage?
Thank you in advance!!
Your welcome and welcome aboard.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Welcome to the forum. I agree someone with more experience but with a multi wire branch circuit you may have voltage on the disconnected wire simply because it is reading through elements or something else that is energized.

Strathead

Occupation
Electrician/Estimator/Project Manager/Superintendent
Hello everyone! Newbie here. I have a question and please accept my apology if this is the wrong section for this but question is this......also an apprentice so wanting to learn.