2 Ground Rod Used

Status
Not open for further replies.

GrobinsonLUI

Hello All. I'm a newbie here but I have a question. Hopefully its an easy one.
I have a client that is "demanding" a dedicated ground rod for his home electronics racks. I believe that I once heard/saw in the NEC that this is against code unless they are bonded together and at least within 6' of each other. Now I can't seem to find this info. :confused: Can anyone help me out with this?
Thanks in advance.

winnie

Occupation
Electric motor research
See 250.54 of the NEC.

You can have supplementary ground rods, and they can be wherever you want them, but they must be bonded back to the building grounding electrode system. Having a separate _isolated_ grounding electrode is unsafe, a code violation, and would also make the customer's equipment a receiver for any currents flowing through the soil (say caused by a nearby lightning strike).

-Jon

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
250.50 says that all available grounding electrodes shall be used, and shall be bonded to each other. That eliminates your client?s notion of having a separate electrode for electronics racks.

Ground rods are more effective if they are further apart. I think the ?6 feet? limit you are thinking of comes from 250.56. It says rods must be at least 6 feet apart.

rcarroll

winnie said:
See 250.54 of the NEC.

You can have supplementary ground rods, and they can be wherever you want them, but they must be bonded back to the building grounding electrode system.

-Jon
The supplementary grounding electrodes need only be connected to the equipment grounding conductors.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
A supplementary ground rod may be used in addition to the required Equipment Grounding Conductor but it can not be used in place of the EGC.

250.54 Supplementary Grounding Electrodes