2 smoke detectors in each room?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dds

I am a registered Electrical apprentice wiring my house addition. The city inspector requires that I remove the two existing bedroom smoke detectors that are connected to a burglar/fire panel with back-up battery and plug in transformer. He wants 120v detectors with 14/3 wire. There must be thousands of residential burg/fire panels installed throughout the U.S.A. Would this interpretation put the Alarm industry out of business? Or does the alarm industry install a 2nd smoke detector in the same room? What is the correct interpretation of the building code?
Dave

ron

Re: 2 smoke detectors in each room?

Most building codes refer to NFPA 72 for specific items not addressed in the building code.
Depending on which code you follow, this may be helpful.
National Fire Alarm Code (NFPA 1996)
Chapter 2 - Household Warning Equipment
2-3. Power Supplies
2-3.1 General
2-3.1.2 There shall be a primary (main) and a secondary (standby) power source. For electrically powered household fire warning equipment, the primary (main) power source shall be ac; the secondary (standby) power source shall be a battery.
Exception No. 3: Detectors and alarms powered from a monitored dc circuit of a control unit where power for the control unit meets the requirements of Section 2-3 and the circuit remains operable upon loss of primary (main) ac power.

ron

I should also share that a few years ago when doing my home, I installed a control panel (Ademco) with low voltage smoke detectors and security related stuff. The smoke detectors where located in the same locations I would install standard lighting circuit interconnected detectors in someone else's home.
The inspector wanted what he wanted, and I now have two detectors in each area of my home :( (it wasn't worth the argument)

al hildenbrand

Occupation
Electrical Contractor, Electrical Consultant, Electrical Engineer

Dave,