200 amp service, 200 or 100 per leg?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alwaysready

Im a newbie
Im still trying to grasp the whole concept of 220 and have a couple of questions

1. 220v 30 amp breaker will the breaker trip when it reaches 30
amps per leg or 15 amps per leg?

2. 200 amp service Main breaker will it trip when it reaches 200 amps per leg or 100 per leg or some combiniation of 200?

3. 200 amp service is it really 400 amps, 200 on each leg to neutral?

the questions are all interrelated and to you experienced guys are simple but
as stated im a newb and had to ask
if there is another thread about this point me the way as id like to have a good handle on this
thanks in advance

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrical Engineer
My fist bit of advice is to immediately and forever ban from your vocabulary the phrase ?per leg,? in the context of current flow. It is clear to me, from the way you are using the phrase, that you are using the word ?per? in the mathematical sense of multiplication. Example: Two dozen eggs at $1.50 PER dozen is $3.00 total. This is a multiplication problem, and that is not how current works.

The simple way of saying it (all I have time for at the present) is that, for a balanced single-phase 120/240 volt system, all the current that leaves the source on one leg is going to return to the source on the other leg. It is not 100 amps on Phase A plus 100 amps on Phase B for a total of 200 amps. Rather it is 200 amps leaves on Phase A, and the same 200 amps returns on Phase B.

Now I need to ask, before we allow this to go much further. What do you mean by ?occupation, hmmm,? and what is the nature of the electrical classes you are taking? We are not permitted to assist a person who is not employed in the electrical industry, or who is not at least studying to become employed in the electrical industry, and who intends to perform electrical installation work at home. No DIYs are allowed here.

Alwaysready