208 to 240 delta transformer

Status
Not open for further replies.

SES

Hi guys,

We are looking to install a 15kva transformer for a Solaredge 14.4kw 208 delta/Y inverter on 240v high leg service. I've never worked on 240v delta before and wanted to get your opinions on what would be best. I.e. 208 delta to 240 delta or 208Y to 240 delta. Thanks.

Carultch

Hi guys,

We are looking to install a 15kva transformer for a Solaredge 14.4kw 208 delta/Y inverter on 240v high leg service. I've never worked on 240v delta before and wanted to get your opinions on what would be best. I.e. 208 delta to 240 delta or 208Y to 240 delta. Thanks.

What does the inverter manual require?

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
With high leg delta service your transformer primary must either be delta or a wye with the center point left unconnected. But finding a 240Y/137 wye primary will not be easy.
For the inverter side you want a wye so that you can ground the center point. The inverter may not be happy with either corner grounded or ungrounded delta.

jaggedben

Occupation
Solar and Energy Storage Installer
FWIW, I've installed 8.8kW of single phase inverters on the split phase of a high-leg delta, and had no problem at interconnection. That was a 100A service. Of course it's also no guarantee that your mileage won't vary.

If it's PG&E, you could try this: Submit the NEM for single phase, with a line diagram. When they kick it back because you don't have final building, call the contact and tell them you want the engineering review upfront to find out if your design will be approved, and you know the application will be pending until it's built. Be persistent.

Just a suggestion.

SES

With high leg delta service your transformer primary must either be delta or a wye with the center point left unconnected. But finding a 240Y/137 wye primary will not be easy.