208Y/120V PANEL SCHEDULE KVA PER PHASE CALCULATION

NICKWAIENG

New User
Occupation
ELECTRICAL ENGINEER
Hello,

I am an MEP electrical designer. For years I have always thought that if you have a 208V single phase load fed from a 208Y/120V panel, meaning there is a 2 pole breaker, and you want to know the per phase kVA to input into a panel schedule, you simply take the voltage (208v) and multiply by the FLA/MCA which in my case is 25 amps, then divide by 2 to get the kVA per pole for the panel schedule.

It would look like this:

208V * 25A = 5200VA = 5.2kVA

5.2kVA / 2 = 2.6kVA

So the first pole on the schedule would have 2.6kVA and the second pole would also have 2.6kVA.

I am receiving feedback on my schedule that the load per phase should acutally be calculated as:

5.2kVA/sqrt3 = 5.2kVA/1.73 = 3.002kVA, and the first pole on the schedule would have 3.002kVA and the second pole would also have3.002kVA.

Let me know what you guys think, Thanks!

wwhitney

Occupation
Retired
It depends.

What is the actual current of just your 5.2 kVA load @ 208V? It's 5200/208 = 25A. What 120V load current would give you 25A? It's 25A*120V = 3.0 kVA, which matches the second method. While your first method gives a current of 2600VA / 120V = 21.7A.

So if you had a single 208V load as your only load on the panel, which method gives you the correct minimum panel size? The minimum panel size is 25A, so the second method is correct.

However, suppose you have a balanced set of three such 208V 2-wire loads, one A-B, one B-C, and one C-A. Then what is the line current from that balanced set? It's not 2 * 25A = 50A, it's 2 * 21.7A = 43.3A. [The ratio is sqrt(3)/2.] So for a panel whose only load is a balanced set of 208V loads, which method gives you the correct minimum panel size? It's the first method.

In other words, the first method is appropriate when you are dealing with a balanced set of 208V loads, while the second method is appropriate for any unbalanced portion.