230 motor on a 480 bus w VFD v/hz

Learn the NEC with Mike Holt now!
Status
Not open for further replies.

MD Automation

Occupation
Engineer
They had a device to pick up the speed of expiring roll of paper that could be traveling over 40 MPH and have the incoming 3,000 # roll of newsprint perform a speed match then make a splice by double sided tapes and cut it. This was 30 years ago when they still were printing a lot of newspaper.

That kind of synchronized motion matching software is always the most interesting stuff to me (I'm an engineer working a lot with servo drive applications). It's relatively easy to do simple synchronization with modern equipment, but it would have been real interesting to see how they worked out a complicated process on something like you saw 30 years ago! To perform a paper splice "on the fly", between 2 different rolls, at those speeds...pretty neat.

Applications like a "winder" are very cool to watch - how they keep track of the tension on the product as well as the size of the spool (as it changes with winding / unwinding, the speed of the product will change unless you keep adjusting the spool rpm).

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Kind of a rule that applies to the pump whether you have a variable speed power source or not.

Take ae pump that was designed to be driven at 1750 RPM and connect it to a 3450 RPM motor and you will overload the motor in most instances because of the way the load increases with speed.

Do the other way around by putting the 3450 rated pump on a 1750 rpm motor and your flow will be well below what was expected, but probably could have used 1/4 or 1/3 size of motor to drive it this way.
I’ve even run into it when people buy some machine cheap from China that has a 50Hz motor on a pump, then connect it here and the motor overloads. That 20% increase in speed means the pump needed 173% of the Hp!

garbo