240v delta center tap - Milton Storm Service

Jimcassidy

Occupation
Retired electrician
Helping here in Florida - we have a church service that is down. I arrived late last night and will take a look at the service but I’m told it is a 240 V delta center tap, 3 phase 4 wire. Our generator has many configurations - but not 240 V delta center tap.

The service has a gutter with a current transformer type meter that has 4 -3 pole disconnects tapped from a gutter.

I’d like to give them temporary power for their worship service tomorrow & connect our 230 kV generator - what advice would you give?

I am an old electrician who went through my apprenticeship in the 1980’s. Passed the my licensing again in the last year in Oklahoma as an unlimited electrician to help with a Christian Organization but have not worked in the field on a daily basis for many years.

What caution & advice would you give?

Jimcassidy

Occupation
Retired electrician
I think you are out of luck unless you can come up with some single phase transformers for the 120 V circuits.
I’ve got many options on the gen set - 3 phase 480 v, 3 phase 208 v, single phase 240 v. With no power on the service and it isolated - what is the issue with providing 4 wire 208 v to a few disconnects?

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
It is likely the 208/120 3 phase would suffice for your situation at least to provide lighting. You could check the 3 phase equipment such as air conditioning and see if 208 would be adequate.

Reactions: J2H

Hv&Lv

Occupation
Engineer/Technician
If you can separate the wires at the can (or somewhere). You could connect the generator 120/240 to the wires that are connected to the transformer with the center tap
Basically supplying only single phase loads.
Augie47 also posted a good idea, just remember to turn off all three phase breakers.