250.66 vs 250.122?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JasonCo

I'm an apprentice in school, just getting a bit confused on which table to go to when trying to understand grounding conductors. So I understand if you have a grounding conductor that goes from the panel grounding bar to the ground rod, this is considered a grounding electrode conductor. But... Lets say you have to size a conductor that goes from your ground bar in your service panel to the metal housing in a 3 phase motor. Wouldn't this fall under a equipment grounding conductor that falls under 250.122? I'm just confused with all this, any help to better understand this would be amazing! Thank you

Edit: Another example I'd also be confused about is a grounding conductor going from your panel ground bar to a ground bar in a pull box. Would that be a bonding jumper, equipment grounding conductor or grounding electrode conductor? Wouldn't that be a bonding jumper...?

Smart $

Esteemed Member
There are three types of grounding conductors

Grounding electrode conductors... with no surprise here, these go to grounding electrodes and sized per 250.66.

Equipment grounding conductors... these are required to be run with the circuit conductors. Wire type are sized per 250.122.

Bonding conductors and jumpers are all other wire type grounding conductors and are sized per 250.102.

Ponchik

Occupation
Electronologist
The way that I try to remember this is:

Grounding Electrode Conductor (GEC) Generally you install the "Electrode" in the ground. So GEC is the wire that connects the electrical system to the ground because it has the word "electrode" in it. 250.66

Equipment Grounding Conductor (EGC) it is the wire type that connects the "Equipment" to the grounding system. 250.122

Bonding jumper, It is the wire that bonds, jumps two pieces together.

BTW, metallic raceways do count as an equipment grounding conductor. However, they are not sized based on 250.122

GLSA