3 phase open delta system

Status
Not open for further replies.

mshields

Have just encountered one of these for the first time (in Florida where I gather they are common).

Tenants are experiencing lots of fried equipment. So I'm studying these systems to generate questions for the electrician down there (facility is in Florida I am in Boston). The building in question has only a single phase meter center. So the three phase of the open delta three phase system is being used for other facilities. So from what I can tell, the following questions should be asked of the electrician:

1. Did he bring in the correct 2 phases (i.e. the two between which is the ground tap). But that would be pretty hard to believe and cause immediate mayhem. Seems unlikely to me.
2. Did they run shared neutrals and if they did, are neutral on circuits associated with fried equipment solidly connected to the neutral bus. This of course could be a problem independent of the type of three phase equipment.

lots of voltage checks across the board, etc.

My question for you is this. Are there problems specific to open delta 3 phase systems that we should be looking for?

Thanks,

Mike

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
First of all, the (presuming B phase is the high leg) A-N-C 120/240 section is identical to a single-phase system. So, the first thing to do is measure and compare the phase-to-neutral voltages. The high leg should read around 208v.

Second is to see if you can measure for any voltage between the neutral and a reliable earth, like a fully-metallic water piping system, or even a ground rod.

As for the presence of a high leg, if properly wired, it should have no effect on what's going on. Sometimes, the high leg is used to supply 240v-only equipment, between the high leg and either other line, in addition to three-phase motor loads, like A/C compressors.

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems