300.12 Violation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

120good277bad

Occupation
Lead Electrician
Hey everyone. I'm a lead electrician at a small commercial company and I'm having a conflict with the GC regarding raceway. I'd appreciate some thoughts, help, or additional codes that could help me make my case. Here is my scenario.

There is a 12"x16"x4" pull box that has 1-1/2" EMT coming into the top of it from a main disconnect. The pull box, per the GC, MUST be recessed in this equipment room (this is for an x-ray machine). The problem is we don't have enough of a gap to bring flex cleanly out of the wall. So the GC is insisting that I punch a hole in the cover of this pull box, and then install a connector and flex on the cover. I'm pulling 2AWG through this box and into a Power Distribution Unit that will be sitting on the floor. Not only will this look atrocious, but to me it makes accessing the box over complicated and in violation of 300.12 which states that Raceways have to maintain mechanical continuity. Once that cover comes off, it's not longer mechanically continuous. Am I correct in my assertion here? Is there any other codes that would help me make my case? I already tried to simply surface mount the box and they're insisting I cant because of aestetics even though this is an equipment room.

kwired

Electron manager
My preference would be deeper box so you can enter with both concealed raceways as well as the exposed flex, but my guess is they don't like that either.

I think at very least you might need a bonding jumper to cover or to a bonding bushing on your flex connector to assure bonding of the cover and flex connector.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
As I read 300.12 it would cover the conduit/raceway runs TO the box and no apply to your situation.
As to aesthetics, the GC may be cautious what he asks for :)

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor