350HP VFD

Status
Not open for further replies.

SpiderMT

I got a quote today for a new 350HP VFD 18 pulse. Cost was $126,000. Does this seem even close to anyone here?

Besoeker

I got a quote today for a new 350HP VFD 18 pulse. Cost was $126,000. Does this seem even close to anyone here?
Probably in the right ball park if it includes the transformer.
Going 18-pulse is for limiting the supply side harmonics.
Have you considered going active front end? It's usually what we do at that sort of power and upwards.
The inverter will be more expensive but it could eliminate the need for a transformer depending or where you are getting the supply from.

Last edited:

petersonra

Occupation
engineer

It sounds insane to me but a lot depends on what all the quote includes. The cost of 18 pulse drives means we never sell them, so I have little experience upon which to base a guess on cost, but the magnitude of the number just seems very high to me. But, again, it depends on what it includes.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Seeing what it has cost for smaller VFD's in my buildings, my guess is that figure is in the ballpark

Are 18 pulse drives that much more expensive than regular drives?

based on what we paid for a regular 600HP drive a few months ago, the number being bandied about makes little sense to me. but again, it depends a lot on what is included in the price.

This brochure from AB suggests just the 18 pulse 350HP drive by itself would be about $40,000 (see page 3).

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/br/drives-br007_-en-p.pdf

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer