400a Main breaker fed with 350mcm

Npstewart

id prefer to use 500mcm, it always escapes me when can I

legally use 500mcm for a 400a service when 500mcm is only rated at 380 75degree?
Because 240.4(b) allows you to round up to the next standard size circuit breaker. They don't make a 380A breaker so you're allowed to round up to the next standard size breaker. However, there are limitations to this.

raberding

Occupation
Consulting Engineer
Don't forget that if the load exceeds 380 amps, 500mcm won't get it. Parallel #3/0 or 600mcm will be needed.

Npstewart

Don't forget that if the load exceeds 380 amps, 500mcm won't get it. Parallel #3/0 or 600mcm will be needed.

Agreed, those are some of the limitations. Also, can’t be used on secondary side of a transformer off memory, or anything 800A or greater, etc.

I’m not an electrician but I do my own electrical work, and I’d much prefer to work with 2 sets of 3/0 wire vs. something like #500 or 600s.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

kwired

Electron manager
Agreed, those are some of the limitations. Also, can’t be used on secondary side of a transformer off memory, or anything 800A or greater, etc.

I’m not an electrician but I do my own electrical work, and I’d much prefer to work with 2 sets of 3/0 wire vs. something like #500 or 600s.

Next size up rule ends once you go over 800 amps. People sometimes get into trouble with this thinking 500 copper is good for 400 amps and they run say three sets for a 1200 amp circuit. That gives you 1140 amps of conductor but you are no longer allowed to use next size up rule.

Npstewart

Next size up rule ends once you go over 800 amps. People sometimes get into trouble with this thinking 500 copper is good for 400 amps and they run say three sets for a 1200 amp circuit. That gives you 1140 amps of conductor but you are no longer allowed to use next size up rule.