A/C calls

Status
Not open for further replies.

Minuteman

Have you been getting a lot of Air Conditioning calls? We do. Yesterday I went on three, today two. Now, I'm not an Mechanical Contractor, but we get a lot of A/C disconnect replacement and branch circuit OCP failure calls.

One of the calls yesterday was at an old hotel downtown. It was a 30-amp,V delta disconnect and the C phase fuse was burned up completely. The B phase fuse was damaged, ad was not in the fuse holder properly. This disco was one of four that were improperly tapped to a 150-amp fused disco. I replaced the damaged disco and gave him a price to replace the 150-amp disco with a panel, but I doubt he will do it. interesting side note, the phase colors were Yellow/Red/Black in all the building.

While I was there, the Mechanical Contractor that referred me called and asked me to check a unit on an adjacent building. I checked the disco for voltage and opened the cover for the contactor, pushed it in and the unit came on while I held it. Looked at the low voltage wiring for the Thermostat and found a splice that was so sun damaged, a wire nut failed. Repaired the splice and tapped it up with some 33+ and was on my way.

A call today was because a A/C journeyman I know replace a condenser fan motor, but when he closed the disco, there was no voltage. He checked the panel and the A/C breaker has voltage, but no voltage at the disco, so he left. I arrived and noticed that the 30-amp breaker for the A/C had voltage, and the 30-amp breaker for the dryer was not quite in the on position, so I turned it off and back on. I closed the disco, and the dryer breaker tripped again. I looked at the wiring for the condenser motor and there was a direct short from the miss wiring going to the fan capacitor. Changed the wiring and relabeled the panel.