A question for seasoned contractors about business practices

Status
Not open for further replies.

DWB

Good Afternoon,
I have been working as an electrician since the late 90s. I just started my own business in April and am still really trying to figure out the ins and outs of everything. Today I met with a fellow electrical contractor who has a commercial fit out he's working on, and apparently a lot of other work and prospective work. I was very excited to talk to him about sub contracting and then he asked if we could use my license for this project we were looking at, and I get the impression he may want to use it in the future. (I hold a master license, his is limited). I'm really just fishing for info. Should I be leery? Is this common practice? If so, what is the standard fee for the license holder? What kind of written agreement if any would I need signed. I would really like to form a partnership, but at the same time if I am ultimately assuming liability I don't want to get screwed or undercut. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks, DWB

sameguy

Occupation
Master Elec./JW retired
Go talk to a lawyer.
Never believe anyone who dangles a future job, if only you on this one...

qcroanoke

Sometimes I don't know if I'm the boxer or the bag
Occupation
Sorta retired........
"and then he asked if we could use my license for this project we were looking at,"

Danger! Will Robinson, danger!
Do not let him use your license.....

DWB

Thanks for the responses. This is my gut instinct, as well. To dig a little deeper on the subject can anyone tell me when an agreement between a license holder and the one finding the work/ purchasing the parts becomes appropriate? I don't doubt this fellows intent but I am trying to figure the difference between getting stuck in a jackpot and common business practices. I've known quite a few folks who have held licenses for companies for the purpose of a single project.

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA